FIRST UNITED METHODIST CHURCH OF LOCKHART
A newspaper item in 1927 indicated the presence of a Methodist congregation in Lockhart as early as 1853. County records show the establishment of a Methodist Church building in 1855 near the present site of the Caldwell County Museum.
The first pastor, Isaac G. John, was appointed in 1855. He was followed by a succession of Methodist Circuit Riders and preachers.
The second church building was erected in 1894. Dr. Thomas Gregory, an Oxford scholar, served as pastor from 1905 until 1908.
The church continued to grow, and by 1913 the need for a new church building led to the purchase of Blanks Memorial Hall. It stood at the church's present location. The small outlying churches of Maxwell, Seawillow, and Clarks Chapel were added to the Lockhart Church. An intensive Christian Education program began, resulting in eventual overcrowding.
In 1942, war bonds were purchased to start a fund for a new church. Ten years later, in 1952, the present sanctuary building was erected. This beautiful building continues to be the centerpiece of the church's life. However, continued growth led to the expansion of the education wing, kitchen, nursery, and fellowship hall.
By 1995, a building committee addressed the need of a new Family Life Center. This was a result of both the growth of the church and the need for additional space especially in light of the expanding Youth Program. The very .large and active Boy and Girl Scout programs also use the building for many of their activities. The Family Life Center has a full gymnasium in which the contemporary worship services are held each Sunday at 8:30 a.m. It also has a large full service kitchen, six classrooms, and large restrooms with showers.
The dedication of new building was held on August 13, 2000. This service also celebrated the 145th anniversary of the First United Methodist Church of Lockhart.